Founded 1984

Report of Autumn Weekend 2011

The 2011 Autumn Weekend of the Old Time Dance Society was held in The University Town of Oxford from 21st October – 23 rd October 2011, with members staying at the Excellent Barceló Hotel – a modern, comfortable hotel on the outskirts of Oxford City Centre.

The Venue for the first two evenings dancing was the beautifully appointed Ballroom at the car manufactures, Rover Sports and Social Club. The music for all three evenings was provided by that talented young musician David Smith. The Hosts and M.C's for the Friday nights dancing were the former Senior British Old Time Champions – John and Anne Lincoln of Oxford. With over 120 in attendance, an excellent evenings dancing was had, with 10 sets dancing The Quadrilles with John calling the figures.

The Saturday Night Ball was again, an excellent evening of traditional old time dancing with 125 in attendance. The leaders for the evening were the Societies Chairman and his wife, Grahame and Bernice Baldwin who presided over a great programme which included 8 sets dancing the Caledonians. During the evening a raffle was held which raised £210, a great tribute to all who contributed and brought along prizes – A Very Big Thank You to you All.

Sunday saw a change of venue for the last evening to the Wheatley School which had a beautiful dance floor. The Leaders and M.C's for the Sunday night were the Societies President and his wife, Fred and Joyce Boast. With an excellent programme for the last night including 7 sets for The Lancers it ensured that this weekend finished on a high.

It is a great tribute to the event's organiser Paul Harding and his team who worked so hard and tirelessly over many months to ensure that this whole event was such a success.

The 2010 AGM was held on the Saturday Morning at 10-30am at the Rover Sports & Social Club with 78 in attendance. The Scrutineer was called to announce the results of the election for 5 committee members to serve on the committee for the next 2 years. With 6 candidates for the 5 places on the committee, the result of the public postal ballot was as follows:-

Mike Cooper 389

Wendy Griffiths 399

June Urquhart 430

Ron Urquhart 420

James Forster 242

Alan Grohs 172

Mike Cooper, Wendy Griffiths, June Urquhart, Ron Urquhart and James Forster were duly elected to the Committee.

The result of the ballot for the President post is as follows

Fred Boast 337

Richard Purcell 143

Fred Boast was re-elected as President for a further 3 years.

Some members took advantage of the good weather for this time of the year by taking the opportunity over the weekend to do some sightseeing in this Historic town. Some members decided to go on the open top bus tour whilst some visited Blenheim Palace. Another large group followed the “Morse Trail” - A tour of the locations made famous in the T.V. series “Inspector Morse”.